The Online College Instructor
Navigating the Virtual College Classroom

Welcome to The Online College Instructor

“What do you do all day?”  I’m asked that question many times and, of course, when I explain that I’m a full time online university instructor, I usually get that glassy-eyed stare of someone who has trouble dealing with anyone who “plays on the computer all day long.”

I’m sure freelance writers, home-based entrepreneurs, and the growing number of other types of telecommuters experience that same non-responsive stare.  We don’t have to wear “work clothes.”  Robes and slippers are appropriate “office wear.”  Why, we could even get by without showering every day.  Well, maybe not.

Despite all the perks – including no commuting and wardrobe expenses, no time restrictions (yeah, right), off-peak traveling (do you?) – teaching exclusively online presents both benefits and, yes, challenges.

I hope this blog will become a clearinghouse of information, as well as a growing community of online college and university level instructors looking for a place to learn more about teaching online and enjoying some virtual conversation.

4 Responses to “Welcome to The Online College Instructor”

  1. Interesting read (not just this article, either).

  2. Thanks for your comment. I hope to somehow drive some more traffic to this site. I’m new at this, so I’m still learning.

  3. Visit other sites and post links back to your site, along with your comments. I found your site because you commented on one of my articles, and it was linked to your site.

  4. Thanks. I plan to do just that this afternoon.


Leave a Reply

